A Fresh Change- Stirlicious

Store front of Stirlicious! Picture taken from: yelp.com
Store front of Stirlicious! Picture taken from: yelp.com

Located in New Rochelle, NY on North Avenue is home to Stirlicious.  Stirlicious opened in July of 2014, so this new restaurant has been around for a little over a year.  Stirlicious was created with in goal of creating healthy and fresh meals that are still filled with great flavors.  They appeal to other groups of people besides people who are looking to just eat healthy.  There are many items on their menu that are gluten-free and dairy-free as well.  The menu at Stirlicious has been SPE Certified and has been created by chefs and dietitians to create the maximum nutrition benefit of each dish.

I have been going to Stirlicious since it opened (and for a while I was going at least 4 times a week).  When you walk into this restaurant, you will find a pencil and a paper.  With this you get to create your own stir fry traditional bowl, sitrrito, or salad bowl.  My go-to is always the traditional bowl.  Then you pick from your proteins, vegetables, sauce, and sides.  Proteins include, grilled chicken, steak, shrimp or tofu.  They have an large variety of vegetable (almost anything you can think of).  Sauces include pesto, lemon ginger, spicy red pepper, chimichurri  and many others.  Last but not least, sides you can pick from are white rice, brown rice, rice noodles, mix greens or quinoa.  My favorite combination is half grilled chicken and half steak, with spinach, tomatoes, and zucchini, brown rice and spicy red pepper sauce mixed all together!  Even though my mouth basically catches on fire every single time I eat this yummy dish, I always manage to finish every bite.

Besides all of the food being so amazing here, the place over all is great!  The price is absolutely right too.  They always have a deal going on, and even if you don’t use any deal, I have never spent more than about 13$ for this whole meal.  The staff is always really nice, and they never judge me for staring at them while they make my stir fry right in front of me!!!  This is one of my favorite parts because I watch what they are doing and everything is always made fresh and specifically to what you ordered.

Obviously the food quality is most important, but for being so close to a college and always have college kids in and out of this restaurant, it is kept so clean too.  It is always neat and clean, and I am never worried about sitting down.  Another awesome perk to this place is that you have the option to stay or to go.  As a college kid my self, I know that I am always on the go and need food quick.  Stirlicious allows me to eat healthy and on the go.  Thankfully Sirlicious opened in my second year of college and allowed me to eat McDonald’s way less (thank goodness).  Stirlicious is open from 11am – 10pm on Mondays through Saturdays and this is also a great plus because I am always starving when I get out of night class at 9!  Stirlicious allows college kids like me to have another option besides eating McDonald’s or pizza at 9:30 at night.

Overall this is such a great place to eat and I HIGHLY recommend it.  Here is a DIY recipe for people who are not always on the run like me and actually have time at home to make a yummy meal!

vegetables-799005_640

Ingredients for Chicken Stir Fry:

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil
2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 bunch broccoli, cut into florets
1 package shiitake mushrooms
2 to 3 carrots, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 cup onion, diced
1 (8-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, drained
1 cup chicken broth
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon powdered ginger

Serving suggestion: Hot, cooked rice or noodles

Directions:

In a large skillet, heat the oils over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook for 4 to 5 minutes or until lightly browned and fully cooked. Add broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, pepper, and onion and cook an additional 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in the water chestnuts. In a small bowl, combine broth, soy sauce, and ginger. Add to chicken and vegetables and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium to medium-low, and simmer for 4 to 5 minutes, or until sauce thickens. Serve over hot, cooked rice or noodles.

I hope you have the time to make this yummy meal at home but if not Stirlicious is the next best thing!!!


Leave a comment